Student Agreement Unit I
Student Agreement Unit II
Student Agreement Unit Bundle
What is requirements to obtain a South Carolina Real Estate License?
Per S.C. Real Estate Law that went into effect January 1,2017 the following are the requirement to obtain a license (http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/REC/.)
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a high school graduate or have obtained a certificate of equivalency (GED)
- Have proof of completion of the 90-hour education requirements
- The 90 hours is comprised of two separate courses: the 60-hour Pre-Licensing Course and the 30-hour Advanced Principles Course
- Receive a passing score on the state exam
- Pass a criminal background check (https://srandi.com/Employment/AuthForm.aspx)
What if I miss a class or I am late for a class?
The South Carolina Real Estate Commission requires you to be present for the entire class session. We will take attendance at the starting time for each class and after lunch breaks. If you are more than five (5) minutes late, you will not be allowed in the class. You will have to make up the class by attending the missed session at another time (within 6 months). There will be a charge of $35 to attend the missed session.
What is required to pass the course and receive credit?
The South Carolina Real Estate Commission and Coastal Academy of Real Estate require you to attend ALL sessions in their entirety before you can take the Coastal Academy Final Exam and receive certification for completion. All missed sessions can be made up by attending a future scheduled class. Fee is $35 if attended within six (6) months. After six (6) months, the entire fee will have to be paid again.
Do I need to sign up with a real estate broker before attending the class?
No. You can interview companies ahead of time but you do not have to determine which real estate company you want to join until after passing the state exam.
Are there any other fees that have to be paid to take the state exam?
There is a $25.00 fee application fee and $63.00 for each attempt to take the exam. Fees have to be paid by check or money order.
Are there any other costs to obtaining my license after I pass the state exam?
When you find the office you wish to join, they will have to sign your application form and a $50 check or money order will need to be attached when you mail it to the S.C. Real Estate Commission.
Where do I take the exam?
The exams are administered in person by a third-party company PSI Examination Services. They have several locations in South Carolina, including Charleston. After passing the course, students are given detailed instructions on how to apply to take the exam.
When do I take the exam?
Exams are done by appointment. The South Carolina Real Estate Commission will send you the necessary paperwork for setting the appointment, which takes approximately two weeks. After receiving the paperwork, you have to contact PSI to set up your appointment. You can take the exam after completing to 60-hour pre-licensing course, but cannot take the exam until you have also completed the 30-hour Advanced Principles Course.
Do most people pass the exam the first time?
Most students will pass it the first time but it is directly related to the effort a person puts into the class. This includes attending all sessions, paying full attention in classes, participating in classroom activities, reading and studying the materials. We do not guarantee a person will pass and no refunds are given if they do not. We do, however, guarantee our instructors will do their part by delivering the content in a comprehensive manner and answering students’ questions and concerns.